PDA

View Full Version : Penalties for not having insurance

roaddogg02316
03-27-2012, 07:12 PM
Just wondering everyone's opinion on this?

Being tax time I owe a good chunk because I was only insured for 1 month last year. Been laid off for over a year so it was either pay bills or have insurance. Can't do both with what unemployment pays. And please no comments about that. I work in construction and with this economy it just isn't happening. I don't have the $ to go to school. I had wanted to take a welding course at the local Voc. school but it was $400!
I got outsourced almost because they can find immigrants who will work for cheaper and not say anything or don't know better that they are getting cheated on their pay.

I know here in the great state of MA they penalize you on your taxes if your not insured. I have heard it's because it is cheaper if everyone has it so the penalty is for not having it. But even what they offer thru unemployment to keep the same plan was expensive. More than I was collecting in a month. Do they expect me to not eat?

AUTaxMan
03-27-2012, 07:18 PM
They expect you to rely on them for everything. It's not about health care. It's about control.

roaddogg02316
03-27-2012, 07:21 PM
Sounds about right. I have a strong belief that those who aren't in charge have better ideas and thoughts then the ones who are controlling this country.

shrewsbury
03-27-2012, 10:21 PM
i for one cannot afford to pay any more taxes. i have busted my butt to get where i am at. i have no problem paying my fair share, but if my taxes are increased i am unsure what i will do.

my employer pays for my health care 100%, so i have no worries about a penalty, but what a crop of crap.

you can choose to have life insurance, if you own a home you have home insurance, if you own a car you have car insurance. if yu0 don't own a home or car you don't have to have insurance.