PDA

View Full Version : Southern Baptists elect 1st Black president

mrveggieman
06-20-2012, 08:40 AM
Your thoughts:

http://www.ajc.com/lifestyle/southern-baptists-elect-1st-1460135.html

shrewsbury
06-20-2012, 08:42 AM
cool, but i have never seen southern baptist that were racist. but maybe because i am in ohio and not the south?

mrveggieman
06-20-2012, 08:50 AM
cool, but i have never seen southern baptist that were racist. but maybe because i am in ohio and not the south?

I have heard stories of the southern baptist being racist and homophobic but I am not an expert on the extent of their bigotry. I don't really know the guy that they elected president but hopefully he will stand up for the right things.

OnePimpTiger
06-20-2012, 08:08 PM
I was raised southern baptist and, as with anywhere in the south, racism is around, but not nearly as prevalent as is often portrayed. I would say consistently throughout the 24 years I was a member, half the people in my church were transplants from up north and/or Florida.

duwal
06-20-2012, 08:30 PM
maybe he is like Clayton Bigsby, a black white supremacist

http://diaryofahollywoodstreetking.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/clayton-bigsby.jpg

mrveggieman
06-21-2012, 08:10 AM
maybe he is like Clayton Bigsby, a black white supremacist

http://diaryofahollywoodstreetking.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/clayton-bigsby.jpg

Ha Ha. I really want to comment on that one but if I say what's on my mind I will get banned from here. :sign0020:

AUTaxMan
06-21-2012, 09:49 AM
I have heard stories of the southern baptist being racist and homophobic but I am not an expert on the extent of their bigotry. I don't really know the guy that they elected president but hopefully he will stand up for the right things.

Of course people from all walks of like are bigoted. I would say that Southern Baptists are probably less bigoted than the general public because of their religion.

duwal
06-21-2012, 01:58 PM