PDA

View Full Version : Senate canidate's rape comments stir outcry

mrveggieman
08-20-2012, 09:08 AM
http://www.ajc.com/news/nation-world/senate-candidates-comments-on-1502441.html

Star_Cards
08-20-2012, 09:12 AM
saw this this morning. I've heard speculation that this will cost him his re-election bid.

Why in the heck would he need to qualify something as "legitimate rape" in his statement? You'd think a politician would know better than to say that. I also don't know where he's getting his information that a women's body can shut down reproduction in instances of rape. I'm no medical expert put that sounds false. The sad thing is people will probably start saying that now.

pghin08
08-20-2012, 09:30 AM
Really a bizarre statement to make.

AUTaxMan
08-20-2012, 10:02 AM
saw this this morning. I've heard speculation that this will cost him his re-election bid.

Why in the heck would he need to qualify something as "legitimate rape" in his statement? You'd think a politician would know better than to say that. I also don't know where he's getting his information that a women's body can shut down reproduction in instances of rape. I'm no medical expert put that sounds false. The sad thing is people will probably start saying that now.

A poor choice of words, obviously, but this shouldn't be the type of thing that costs somebody an election. It's not like he was making a policy statement, differentiating between legitimate and illegitimate rapes. If he had just not said "legitimate," the same meaning would have been conveyed without the firestorm.

pwaldo
08-20-2012, 02:42 PM
This would probably end his chances of winning in November but the Democrat isn't popular either and it seems to be a Republican state. Should make the race tight when it shouldn't have been in the first place if this guy stays in it.

Wickabee
08-20-2012, 04:11 PM