PDA

View Full Version : My New Goal - The 500 Home Run Club

Vegas
05-27-2009, 06:52 PM
So I have been collecting autographed memorabilia for about 5 years now, mostly focusing on my favorite teams (Dodgers, Lakers, 49'ers, etc), favorite players (Steve Young, Joe Montana, etc), and all time greats (Jordan, Magic, etc). But I thought it would be fun to focus on a certain milestone, so I decided to get signed baseballs from each member of the 500 home run club.

Now I know that I'll probably fall short of getting all 25 members, as Babe Ruth, Mel Ott, and Jimmie Foxx are all dead and command huge prices (especially Ruth). But the other 22 members' autographs are not too bad (Mantle & Williams are pricey, but not crazy). I have been doing this for 6 months now and have 11 of the 25 members so far. It has been a lot of fun watching the auctions on EBay and cruising the web for deals with a certain goal in mind.

I have attached some of my latest items, including a cool Thome that's inscribed with the date of his 500th.

GBforce12
05-28-2009, 12:52 AM
sick autos, good luck on your 500 club!

Chuck-17
05-28-2009, 09:24 AM
That is a great goal!!! I was thinking about doing that as well. You will have to keep us up to date with your progress. Some very nice ones so far.

iowa49erfan
05-28-2009, 01:11 PM
Good luck! Should be an awesome set if you ever get (or when) it completed.

indyreds
06-01-2009, 12:02 AM
Very nice collection. You did know that Banks and Thome will sign for free TTM?

Vegas
06-02-2009, 07:28 PM
UPDATE