PDA

View Full Version : I caught Eric Young Jr's 1st MLB Home Run!!!

xpress34
09-10-2009, 02:02 AM
Well, not really caught, but I am the one who retrieved it!!!

I am getting some MLB TV links and will post pics and the whole story tomorrow...

Got it last night - just home from tonights game and a late dinner...

- Chris
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay... here's a link to the video:

http://colorado.rockies.mlb.com/medi...42667&c_id=col

And here are some still shots:

http://www.gameuseduniverse.com/vb_forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=29379&stc=1&d=1252475437

That's me in the Black jersey going up the tunnel to the left...

I'm a disabled vet so I have an ADA account with the Rockies and every now and then I use it and buy WC (Wheel Chair Companion) Seats in the 'pit' (front row in Left Field) below the grandstand.

I was sitting in Section 151 Seat 9 (9 seats from the wall of the 'tunnel') and as soon as I saw the ball come off the bat, I was out of the seat and on my way. The ball went over my head as I was turning into the tunnel and bounced off the back wall right back to me.

Steve Burke (Rockies Head of Guest Services) who I know was at my seat within a minute of me retrieving the ball. If you watch the video, you can see that I am turning into the tunnel about the time the ball came over my head...

Anyway, having met both EY and EY Jr before, I wasn't about to haggle about it. I gladly turned it over to Steve and went and met EY Jr after the game by the dugout and accepted a GU AU Ball from him in exchange.