PDA

View Full Version : Vintage collectors; Jerry West buy...

dpeezy415
10-05-2006, 05:16 PM
I have been collecting vintage basketball cards for a few months now and this is a good find IMO.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160034116816&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.ebay.com%3A80%2Fsearch%2Fse arch.dll%3Ffrom%3DR40%26satitle%3D160034116816%250 9%26fvi%3D1

The scan looked great but we all know how that goes. When I got it in the mail today the condition was even better than I expected. It has to be at least a PSA 7 so I am really happy.

I am assembling my 3rd set from this year. I am trying to put together a set that would grade ex-mint+, which is quite a challenge. The centering on these SUCK and in 1970 it was tough enough to store regular cards let alone tall boy issues like these.

Any other vintage basketball collectors out there? Interesting to know whose got what of the old stuff...

phatboi
10-05-2006, 11:47 PM
I wouldn't call myself a vintage collector by any stretch, but when I get the chance I've picked up some over time. Feel free to check out my recent pickups in my bucket under Vintage m8.

GL

dpeezy415
10-06-2006, 05:59 AM
Those cards in your bucket are cool. I like the 76-77 cards...

I am trying to acquire rookies of the main guys. I scored a 57 topps Bill Russell in a BVG 5 and a 61 fleer Jerry West in a PSA 7 last week...

Bill Russell RC:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250032963414&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.ebay.com%3A80%2Fsearch%2Fse arch.dll%3Ffrom%3DR40%26satitle%3D250032963414%26f vi%3D1

Jerry West RC:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320031340052&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.ebay.com%3A80%2Fsearch%2Fse arch.dll%3Ffrom%3DR40%26satitle%3D320031340052%26f vi%3D1

autocut
10-06-2006, 07:40 AM
I pick up vintage Rcs from time to time. Got Gervin, D. Dawkins, etc. I prefer vintage over the new stuff anyday.

dpeezy415
10-07-2006, 05:20 PM
Won a 72 Wilt Chamberlain PSA 8 the other day...