PDA

View Full Version : NBA All-Star weekend better than the actual game?



2scoops
02-11-2007, 12:13 AM
okay friday you have:

the nba all-star jam session

THINGS TO DO AT JAM SESSION-
Meet NBA Players & Legends
Collect FREE autographs
Shoot hoops all day on 10+ courts
Let the kids shoot 3-pointers & slam dunks at the Kids Zone
Shop at the NBA Store
Watch the NBA All-Star Practice presented by Toyota
Cheer for your favorites in the McDonald's NBA All-Star Celebrity Game presented by 2K Sports
Show your stuff on the Slam Dunk Court
Hit nothing but net at the 3-point Shootout Court
Compete against your kids at the Sling Shot Jam
Take lots of pictures as you have the time of your life

the celebrity game
rosters include Jamie Foxx along with Taye Diggs, Bow Wow, and Donald Faison for the McDonald's NBA All-Star Celebrity Game.

the rookies vs. sophomore game
ROOKIE ROSTER
PLAYER
TEAM
POS.
HT.
WT.
FROM
Andrea Bargnani (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/andrea_bargnani/index.html)
Toronto
F
7-0
250
Italy
Jordan Farmar (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jordan_farmar/index.html)
L.A. Lakers
G
6-2
180
UCLA
Randy Foye (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/randy_foye/index.html)
Minnesota
G
6-4
213
Villanova
Jorge Garbajosa (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jorge_garbajosa/index.html)
Toronto
C
6-9
245
Spain
Rudy Gay (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/rudy_gay/index.html)
Memphis
G
6-9
220
Connecticut
Paul Millsap (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/paul_millsap/index.html)
Utah
F
6-8
258
Louisiana Tech
Adam Morrison (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/adam_morrison/index.html)
Charlotte
F
6-8
205
Gonzaga
Brandon Roy (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/brandon_roy/index.html)
Portland
G
6-6
229
Washington
Marcus Williams (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/marcus_williams/index.html)
New Jersey
G
6-3
205
Connecticut

SOPHOMORE ROSTER
PLAYER
TEAM
POS.
HT.
WT.
FROM
Andrew Bogut (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/andrew_bogut/index.html)
Milwaukee
F
7-0
245
Utah
Andrew Bynum (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/andrew_bynum/index.html)
L.A. Lakers
C
7-0
275
St. Joseph HS
Monta Ellis (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/monta_ellis/index.html)
Golden State
G
6-3
177
Lanier HS
Raymond Felton (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/raymond_felton/index.html)
Charlotte
G
6-1
198
North Carolina
Danny Granger (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/danny_granger/index.html)
Indiana
F
6-9
228
New Mexico
Luther Head (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/luther_head/index.html)
Houston
G
6-3
185
Illinois
David Lee (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/david_lee/index.html)
New York
F
6-9
249
Florida
Chris Paul (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/chris_paul/index.html)
NOK
G
6-0
175
Wake Forest
Deron Williams (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/deron_williams/index.html)
Utah
G
6-3
210
Illinois



then on saturday is:

the D-League All-Star Game

Sprite Slam Dunk Contest
participating:
New York's Nate Robinson (defending champ)
Boston's Gerald Green
Orlando’s Dwight Howard
Chicago's Tyrus Thomas

PlayStation Skills Challenge
participating:
Miami Heat's Dwyane Wade (defending champ)
Los Angeles Lakers' Kobe Bryant
Cleveland Cavaliers' LeBron James
Phoenix Suns' Steve Nash

Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout
participating:
Dallas' Dirk Nowitzki (defending champ)
Washington's Gilbert Arenas
Cleveland's Damon Jones
Miami's Jason Kapono
Memphis' Mike Miller
Dallas' Jason Terry.

Haier Shooting Stars
Team San Antonio looks to defend its title. The San Antonio trio is comprised of Spurs point guard Tony Parker, NBA legend Steve Kerr and the WNBA's Silver Stars' Kendra Wecker,.

then, sunday is the big game:

the 2007 NBA All-Star Game



i've always liked saturday night as much if not more than the game. thoughts? predictions?

hagansp
02-11-2007, 01:59 AM
i think the skills stuff is better then the game...but then i think that in most all star games...

the travesty is Andre Iguodala is not the dunk champ from last year and is not being asked this year. Nate Robinson was given a gift last year.

2scoops
02-11-2007, 09:13 AM
yeah, the excessive "do-overs" killed me.

BaySportsFan54
02-11-2007, 08:52 PM
I think the actual game could be entertaining, if the players actually cared about the game. They care more about the individual festivites than the game itself.

nadeau01_johnson48
02-11-2007, 10:06 PM
A few thoughts on All-Star Weekend...

1. Daniel Gibson should be on the Rookie Team. It's not his fault Mike Brown is an idiot coach who didn't play him enough.

2. I can't wait to see DJ in the 3-Point Contest.

3. I love the Dunk Contest, and can't wait to watch GG throw it down!

4. The actual game should be good....hopefully.

and 5. Sean's right, there's NO WAY Iguodala should have lost last year.