Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SCF Rewards
    Country

Panini autograph process

I'm new to the modern card collecting hobby and I'm trying to wrap my head around the process Panini uses when obtaining autographs and memorabilia from athletes.

My assumption is simple enough that they send cards and stickers for the athletes to sign, they sign them and then send them back.

Maybe I'm just skeptical, but what's to guarantee (as Panini "guarantees" signatures) that the athletes don't pay someone to sign the cards for them? Are we just going on their word? Just seems weird to me... Why not require a video to be submitted to Panini or have the player sign them in the presence of an employee of Panini?

SCF Rewards
    Country

Topps does require them to be in the presence of an employee. Don't know about Upper Deck but Panini does do it the way you described and they have gotten into problems before with guys not signing the card. Shaq in basketball and Dak Prescott in football immediately come to my mind as having "fake" Panini autographs recently. There is even some talk over in the basketball section that the hottest NBA rookie this year was having his cards signed by his mom.

The reason they do it is because it is way cheaper and because they can get autographs of guys that travel and have very busy schedules.
    Selling All My Cards Here------>Hidden Content

Baseball Autograph and Game Used Only Trade Page: pwaldo.webs.com/
    //s123.photobucket.com/albums/o299/pwaldo/

SCF Rewards
    Country