SCF Rewards
    Transferred Feedback
    Beckett (28)
    Country
    Toronto Maple Leafs
    See anth-toop's Items on eBay

Is set collecting worth the hassle?

Hi everyone.

I know there is a section on SCF dedicated to this, but I figured this would be a better place to put this thread. @scottkoz20 or mods, if you think it should go somewhere else, please let me know.

It's just a question, really...is set collecting worth the hassle? I'm not talking master sets, just base cards and rookies - Upper Deck 1 & 2 mainly.

I am mainly a rookie card collector but I have three or four complete Upper Deck sets from 1990-91 to 1993-94 and a few incomplete sets (1982-83 O-Pee-Chee and 1988-89 O-Pee-Chee I think, I have to check that, and which I need from each set). I've been thinking of building sets but I'm thinking that the shipping cost might be prohibitive (especially if you have, say, a complete base set to offer).

There is another issue, and that is that I am very particular on what condition I will accept. I would be looking for cards/sets in nearmint-mint condition or better. Nothing less than that.

Thoughts?
    Tony

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

SCF Owner

SCF Rewards
    Blog Entries
    Country
    Cleveland Indians Buffalo Sabres Buffalo Bulls
    Twitter: @scfnews See scottkoz20's Items on eBay Packrip.com Traders COMC Cards For Sale Kronozio Upper Deck ePack

well - I think it depends on the collector.

There are plenty of folks in all sports that do like the chase of building sets. Now if the question has to do with the Set Building forum specifically, this is something that I have privately discussed with the staff about retiring as well as other members have asked about the need for this forum (especially in the trading area there is a Prefix for Set Building - makes it redundant)

However, there is a need for a Set Builders area - the location I think is up for discussion going forward.