Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Page 1 of 12 123411 ... LastLast

SCF Rewards
    Country

Question Card Collector software - Anybody hear about this software/company

So I am a rookie here, I have a good sized baseball card collection but I primarily collect vintage stuff. I bought a ton of crap on the cheap in the 90's, I guess I can have a bonfire one day to get rid of the 1000's of Donruss, Fleer, Upperdeck and Topps 1987 to 1992 stuff I bought at Costco and then bought for $5 bucks a box from my local dealer in the later 90's.

Anyhow, I have over 250,000 cards, they are all cateloged in a program called the Card Collector 7.0. All of them, all 250k to the penny. I have used this package for years, literally since the early 90's when it was still DOS software and came on 3.5 disks. I have kept up with it getting updates annually...the company changed hands many times and went most recently to the biggest jerk this side of anywhere. I tried to give him some suggestions for making the software better and pointed out that he was still on version 7.0 for 5 years. I am IN THE SOFTWARE business, you don't do that.

Anyhow, long story short the program was pretty darn good and with no way of easy export I was sort of stuck with it. I went to do my annual update and BANG - Beckett bought them, for what I don't know as they cancelled the product. They gave me 3 months of Beckett premium, which is worthless for cataloging of cards. So question, anybody else get burned by this and any suggestions on other programs?

Thanks, this may be my first post

SCF Rewards
    Country

Have you tried the Inventory Manager on here? It is free.

As for why Beckett bought them out I'm guessing that they were competition so Beckett just buys them and then stops the program hoping everyone will just buy Beckett's program.