Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

SCF Rewards
    Country
    Oakland Raiders Miami (FL) Hurricanes
    See Zuback's Items on eBay

Debating on collecting new products or vintage.

Over the past few years, I have been debating to continue collecting new products that come out - Upper Deck Regular Issue and OPC or to just collect Vintage OPC. The Vintage side has been pulling me more to it, as I have been buying lots and upgrading my own sets and then selling/trading the rest of to those who are trying to finish sets or who collect certain teams or positions, etc.

I have been collecting since I have been 6 years old, which is now going into its 42 year, as I am now 48. I have also liked the vintage as it connects me to a time when hockey was hockey. It was the only thing on TV - as I only had 3 channels to watch when I was younger. One was 2 & 7 out of Calgary, which had Ed Whalen on doing the play by play for the Flames. The other was CBC, which had the Saturday games. I always had to watch Coaches Corner with Don Cherry. The 2 brought had a great impact to me as a viewed and it provided a small town kid, the ability to watch the players he collected. Teams always stayed together. There was trades, but there was not the player movement like we see today. You always saw great games, with great players and there was always the fights as well. Unlike today, that has games on everyday and the player movement makes it harder for me to follow.

I lost interest in watching hockey after the lock out in 1994-95. I would only really watch it, if I was in some sort of players draft or playoff draft.