Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

SCF Rewards
    Transferred Feedback
    Beckett (28)
    Country
    Toronto Maple Leafs
    See anth-toop's Items on eBay

Looking to get into football

Hi folks.

I am Canadian and I have been a hockey rookie card collector since the late 1980s.

A few years ago, I decided to collect a few baseball rookies (mainly cards from the Montreal Expos and Toronto Blue Jays, as well as Canadian-born players).

I'm looking to branch out into all four major sports but I have very little knowledge on basketball or football cards. I am not looking for high-end stuff just yet; mid-range cards is fine. I do not like refractors. What is the most commonly-collected affordable mid-range product available?

I am in the midst of compiling a list of players I want rookies of right now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
    Tony

Football Advisor

SCF Rewards
    Country
    Member is PayPal Verified

Have you checked out Upper Deck's CFL offering?

https://www.cardboardconnection.com/...football-cards

Being a Hockey guy I'm sure you are well acquainted with the company. Only Panini has a license to produce college/NFL/NFLPA licensed trading cards. Seems like Topps is always willing to dabble with experimental leagues like 2019's AAF and 2020's XFL. Leaf is a solid choice for unlicensed product.

Otherwise getting back to the NFL and Panini, if refractors aren't your thing then you'll probably be looking to skip a number of their offerings (anything with Optic or Prizm in the name) as that is a popular variation. For low end Score and Donruss are fun products. For more mid-range, probably Absolute, Prestige, and Contenders deliver some solid value. Playbook is another fun one.