Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: What is a rookie card?

SCF Rewards
    Country
    NULL NULL

Question What is a rookie card?

Ok so if anyone has noticed i post a lot of questions. Its not because I don't think I know the answer its because I like to hear others opinions on them. I have been doing this for about 35 years and have a nice collection (vintage cards and Autos as well as some current) so on to the question.....

So what do you think is a players rookie card? Simple question that you would think has a simple answer, A card or base card from the players 1st year in the NHL. But we all know its not that simple..

Per our favorite publication Beckett ( know its split on if Beckett is retentive or not) there are two types of rookies. RC = Rookie Card the one we all know and love and XRC = Extended Rookie Card. For those not familiar with this its because it mainly a Baseball thing from the 80's. Topps, Fleer and Donruss would put out late update sets with all the trades and rookies from the year, like they do now. so for some reason Beckett decided the update set rookies in the 80's are XRC and the next years cards of the players would be RC. This would be like all the upper deck young guns that are found in SPA being XRC and the next year they would still be RC's.

The next thing that happens with Rookies is vintage cards. So hockey cards put out in 20's 30's 40's some 50's. So i have 2 off the top of my head that i know. Beckett says Bill Cook's Rookie is 1933 OPC, V129 and ice Kings but he has a 1923 V128 Paulins Candy card and a 1924 V130 & V145 before the 1933's. The other is Bill Durnan. His rookie is listed a 1955-56 Parkhurst. But he had a 1951 Berk Ross before it. If you don't include the Beehive's.