Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Thread: StillBig20Fan

SCF Rewards
    Country

StillBig20Fan

1. Name: Carl Tilley

2. SCF ID: StillBig20Fan

3. Location Gadsden, AL

4. Give a brief history of what you do in everyday life. What are your hobbies?

I am a recent graduate of culinary school with a 4.0 average. I am employed at Century Restaurant and Bar at the Tutwiler in Birmingham, AL where I work as a line cook. I got married to Janet my best friend from culinary school back on March 30th of this year. Besides collecting cards, my other hobbies include watching movies, listening to music, reading Sci Fi (particularly Star Wars and Harry Turtledove books), I am an avid Civil War buff and used to do Civil War re-enactments til I tore my knee up back in 2001. On a side note, Janet has started collecting her favorite drivers Dale Jr and Kasey Kahne.

5. Give a brief history of when, how long and why you got into collecting. Please include whether racing was you first passion in collecting, if not, what was. What was the deciding factor that made the change to racing?

My first trading card experience goes back to 1977. My dad is a preacher (now retired) and after school we would hang out at the church before going home. One day I found some torn up Star Wars cards in the church yard. I took them and taped them back together and over the next few days and weeks would find one from time to time. Dad made a deal that we would go across the street to the mom and pop grocery and buy me some packs if I would throw the taped up ones away. This started a passion for trading cards like Star Wars, Charlies Angels, Grease, Baseball, Football, KISS, ANYTHING cardboard and I was hooked.