Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Ebay scam?????

  
  1. #1




    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    47
    Posts
    8,493
    SCF Rewards
    1,334
    Country
    See wingsfan-13's Items on eBay

    Ebay scam?????

    Not sure what this is, theres like 20 or so on the Bay right now. The only thing I can think of is that some company bought 1 gamer of Sids and 1 gamer of Ovi's and cut it all up to make these. Put different pics on all the cards and viola 1/1. If their not GU it's just striaght up fraud.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ALEX-OVECHKIN-SI...item2558a89bb1

    If it's legit fine but it just seems real fishy!

  2. #2




    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,444
    SCF Rewards
    1,424
    Country
    See joshpackham's Items on eBay

    those started showing up about 2 months ago, i'm only collect Ovi, so I always see them, most ppl have stayed away from them, usually you can win them for like 5 bucks, you'll notice that some ppl have bought them and are selling them for like 50 or best offer, as there not licensed or by ITG, I just stayed away, figure it was safer that way
    Hidden Content
    I collect Ovechkin, Matt Johnson and Nathan Horton

    MY PC
    Hidden Content


  3. #3




    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    47
    Posts
    8,493
    SCF Rewards
    1,334
    Country
    See wingsfan-13's Items on eBay

    Just wondering if anyone knew the whole story....def staying away from them....LOL

  4. #4




    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    481
    Transferred Feedback
    Bench (16)
    Country

    They actualy do all sports. They have had Mantle\Jeter duals, mj\lebron duals. They are all bs.

  5. #5




    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    48
    Posts
    1,511
    SCF Rewards
    1,390
    Country

    So basically they're a fraud. That's why I'm extremely careful when looking at things on the bay.

  6. #6




    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3,241
    SCF Rewards
    860
    Country
    See Jaso1199's Items on eBay

    Ive seen those as well. Only for Howes and Gretzkys or Howes and Orrs type deal. I decided to stay away. They dual only went for $50 canadian, which doesnt make sense. I also think its complete BS. The cards are so low grade looking, the images are distorted and out of shape on some of the pics, looks like low end dumpster junk.

  7. #7




    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    47
    Posts
    8,493
    SCF Rewards
    1,334
    Country
    See wingsfan-13's Items on eBay

    It's not fraud though if they actually are GU jersies! Not sayin I'm gonna grab one, just that it's low quality instead of straight up illegal!

  8. #8




    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,181
    SCF Rewards
    401
    Country

    I think you should stay away from those... definitely BS in my opinion

  9. #9
    Hockey Advisor






    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    19,964
    SCF Rewards
    98,815
    Country
    Edmonton Oilers Toronto Blue Jays Hamilton Tiger Cats
    See 30Ranfordfan's Items on eBay COMC Cards For Sale Upper Deck ePack

    It looks VERY fishy to me. I don't know a thing about the company..... but I would ask this: Does any Sid or AO GU card sell that cheap? When you combine the best two players in the league..... those prices are even more crazy.

    If it's too good to be true, it probably is.

    I'd also like to point out - Upper Deck is the only licenced manufacturer of NHL trading cards (as we've all discussed countless times). Those cards, clearly not made by Upper Deck, use NHL logos. If they're using NHL logos illegally, I'm going to guess they didn't pay Sid or AO for the use of their photos either.

    I'd stay away.

  10. #10




    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3,716
    SCF Rewards
    2,179
    Country
    See Defaultlie's Items on eBay

    **Edited because I ranted before reading...my apologies to the OP**
    Last edited by TheIronHorse4; 02-07-2010 at 01:07 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
SCF Sponsors


About SCF

    Sports Card Forum provides sports and non-sports card collectors a safe place to discuss, buy, sell and trade.

    SCF maintains tools that will allow collectors to manage their collections online, information about what is happening with the hobby, as well as providing robust data to send out for Autographs through the mail.

Sponsors



Follow SCF on