Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1




    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,934
    SCF Rewards
    5,867
    Transferred Feedback
    (27) UCB
    Country
    See ultimatehockeyfan's Items on eBay

    Beckett website problem

    Hey everyone. I'm not sure if there's already a thread up about this, but I want your opinions on what's happening. I went to www.beckett.com to check some BV's for a trade, and these appeared.





    Does the site have a virus or does anyone know what else could be happening? Any info is appreciated.

    Thanks!

  2. #2





    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    8,351
    SCF Rewards
    1,579
    Country
    See reoddai002's Items on eBay

    If you click on "why was this page blocked" it will explain what happens:

    http://safebrowsing.clients.google.c...w.beckett.com/

    Looks like 12 of the 418 tested pages from beckett's site have been compromised with some sort of trojan (ad? or hacked?). It goes on to say that its not beckett hosting that causing the problem.

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers,
    reoddai

  3. #3





    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,238
    SCF Rewards
    405
    Country

    i had the same warning recently and i have even had a similar warning when browsing certain forums here. It may have something to do with certain adds on that page...atleast that is what someone explained to me

  4. #4
    BANNED



    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3,634
    Country
    See jesiahj's Items on eBay

    i had the same warning recently and i have even had a similar warning when browsing certain forums here. It may have something to do with certain adds on that page...atleast that is what someone explained to me

    It's definitely adds on the page. I cruise the hfboards website often and picked up a virus from an add on the site one time..

    Thankfully it's my job to fix them so no biggie but still annoying.

  5. #5




    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,934
    SCF Rewards
    5,867
    Transferred Feedback
    (27) UCB
    Country
    See ultimatehockeyfan's Items on eBay

    Thanks for the replies! I guess no harm can be done unless I click the ads right? I clicked "ignore this warning" and finally got onto the website, so hopefully nothing happens.

  6. #6
    New Project Manager






    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    15,107
    SCF Rewards
    67,430
    Blog Entries
    16
    Country
    Montreal Canadiens
    See coolhandluke907's Items on eBay

    I had a member report the same thing once to me about SCF. Not sure what tool you use but th elink in question was saying that a virus had been reported on the domain name where a other member had his signature hosted. The image was not infected but because the domain name where the image was had a issue, they gave a warning by association and in fact their was no infections at all.

    So not sure what you all use but I pay for a antivirus and never get these warning that more often then not, is about a other third site with no relation other then a member hosting a image.
    Hidden Content

    I collect all Montreal Canadien. Hidden Content for player, teams you collect

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
SCF Sponsors


About SCF

    Sports Card Forum provides sports and non-sports card collectors a safe place to discuss, buy, sell and trade.

    SCF maintains tools that will allow collectors to manage their collections online, information about what is happening with the hobby, as well as providing robust data to send out for Autographs through the mail.

Sponsors



Follow SCF on