Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

SCF Rewards
    Country

Authentication question

I'm new to collecting memorabilia and had an authentication question that I was hoping someone on here with more experience could please help to answer.

I saw a signed baseball online with a PSA/DNA hologram and looked up the authentication number from the hologram in their database and it matches. If I can get it, the ball would stay in my collection and I wouldn't have any intention of selling it.

My question is: If I don't have any intention of selling it, should I still ask for the letter that would prove its authenticity along with the hologram sticker on the ball? Also, if there is anything big that I should look for when looking at signed baseballs, please let me know.

Thank you very much.

SCF Rewards
    Country

I personally never buy any memorabilia without a letter of authenticity from either PSA or JSA, but a letter from them in no way guarantees that the autograph is legit. Those companies just give their professional opinion, and sometimes they are wrong. However, an auto with a COA from PSA or JSA has a lot better chance of being real than an auto without it. Before ever buying an auto, do your own research. For example, I have seen enough Chipper Jones autographs to know what looks right and what doesn't, so if I see a ball with a PSA COA and it looks sketchy to me, I pass.

BANNED

Country