Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Card Sales and the IRS

SCF Rewards
    Country

Card Sales and the IRS

I am new to this forum so forgive me if this question has been answered before:
    This Ad will be removed when you a member of sportscardforum.com

Have never sold anything via Auction before but am thinking of listing a Jordan rookie (BGS 9) to help with family finances. Question is... If I were to net a large dollar amount, am I required to report to IRS? I have had this card since I was a kid so this would not be a business transaction - rather a one-time sale. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Assistant General Manager

SCF Rewards
    Blog Entries
    Country

I would make a guess if you sell a big ticket item you will have to pay taxes on it. As ebay sales are now all collecting sales tax I am sure if you net a big dollar amount and do not declare it might raise a red flag with the IRS. I am not a expert so if someone else can chine in that would be appreciated.

DON
    Great Prices on soft sleeves and top loaders!

Standard Soft sleeves .75 each or (5 for $3), Thick Soft Sleeves $1 each or (5 for $4), Top Loaders 60 point $2.75 each (3 for $8), Top Loaders 100 point $4, Top Loaders 140 points $2.50 each or (3 for $7) Top Loaders 190 point $1.75 each or (3 for $5), Top Loaders 240 point $2 each or (6 for $10). Prices do not include shipping!!

SCF Rewards
    Country

Thanks Don. I suspected that might be the case. Hate to lose thousands on taxes. It might be a good excuse to tell the wife so I can keep the card. If anyone knows a way around taxes but still get top dollar for the card, please chime in.

SCF Rewards
    Country

If anyone knows a way around taxes but still get top dollar for the card, please chime in.