Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SCF Rewards
    Country

Newbie here, need some help with baseball cards

Hi everyone. I am new to the forum and new selling baseball cards. I have about a shoebox and a half of baseball cards from when I was younger and from before my time. I was never a collector. I just bought cards as a kid and were given some by my dad. I need some help figuring where I should start with valuing them? I called some local card shops, they are charging $5 a card for review and appraisal! That would cost thousands! I also looked into a month subscription on Beckett, just enough time to look up all my cards, but someone told me if I have a real valuable card, it won't tell you that in Beckett. So, for example, a friend just told me that my 1987 Topps Barry Bonds card is worth a ton of money. I see them online anywhere from $7 all the way up to $18,000. I have two of them. How do I go about getting values on these cards? I understand if it is a very high priced card, I should have it graded, but where do I even start? Again, I have about a shoebox and a half of cards, some in plastic sleeves, most not. Any help on getting me started or pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

Assistant General Manager

SCF Rewards
    Blog Entries
    Country

Best thing is to do this.

1) Tell us the years you have what sport. I.E.

1987 Topps
    1989 Donruss

Do this then we can tell you what cards you a might want to look for. Kind of like your buddy telling you the Barry Bonds is worth a ton. Tell him to go jump in a lake as your cards are not worth nothing until they sell. Until you hae the dollars in the hand the cards are worth nothing (just my opinion).